How the World Exists

“The world only exists in your eyes. You can make it as big or as small as you want.”

 

As I read this quote by the late American short story writer and novelist F. Scott Fitzgerald, I like to think that he was talking about us writers. In particular, about how  our creative worlds are completely in our hands. That we have the power to make stories, events, lives as big or as small as we want them to be. That with our pencils, our wild imaginations, and a space to let it all go, we can become the embodiment of freedom.

It is quotes like these from writers who have come before my time that motivate me when I need motivation, or that remind me of my power when, in the moments I am facing a creativity block, I feel powerless. Authors, novelists, and poets before me, I believe, hold wisdom in bountiful bushels, that will remain in abundance for the generations to come. With this being said,  my fellow writer-Eagles, I believe it is important for us to look back sometimes and to tap into this wisdom.

We cannot even begin to hope to become the writers we desire to become if we are not willing to take the advice of those who have gone before us. Those who have trodden on the road that now stretches out in front of us. Those who have gotten their butts kicked with rejection after rejection, but who have continued to show up and return, all the more determined.

With this, writer friends, I encourage you on your journey, to never stop learning, to never stop being guided, and to never forget how the world exists: only in your gifted, powerful, and unlimited eyes. 

Leave a Reply

